Wednesday, April 27, 2011


CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: Africa Prize for Leadership for the Sustainable End of Hunger

The Africa Prize is awarded to Africans who exhibit exceptional leadership, exemplifying courage, vision and commitment to the well-being of the African people. It focuses on individuals working in areas such as public policy, innovation, agriculture, education and health whose leadership and policies contribute to the sustainable end of hunger at the national, regional or continent-wide level.

The Prize seeks to generate heightened awareness within the world community of the many African leaders who are making bold decisions and taking the necessary actions to resolve the pressing agricultural, economic, political and social issues facing the continent. Nominations for the 2011 Africa Prize may be submitted in English, French or Portuguese by completing an online form found at Any individual may nominate. Criteria and details about the Prize and The Hunger Project can also be found at

The Africa Prize was first awarded in 1987. It includes a cash award of US$100,000 to further the laureate’s work for the well-being of Africa’s people. The Prize is awarded by The Hunger Project, a global non-profit organization working to empower women and men in 12 countries in Sub-Saharan Africa, South Asia and Latin America to end their own hunger and poverty. The 2011 Africa Prize will be presented at a gala award ceremony on Saturday, October 22, 2011 at Pier Sixty at Chelsea Piers in New York City.

More information.

Deadline: May 31, 2011

Tags: ,

<< Home